Fingering Question

This forum will provide lessons for getting started and exercises for gaining proficiency.

Moderator: Dave

Andy

Fingering Question

Post by Andy »

Hey all,

Hope everyone is doing well and staying warm. I’m trying to slowly work through a song, and have gotten stuck on the first page. The song is „Ich bin ein Kind vom Rhein“, it’s originally written for Vienna tuning, which might by why this is awkward. Figured the song is easier in position 3 (so far), how would you approach the circled section, and do my fingering nodes above seem sane?
947BBC71-B9F1-4088-BD7C-E85DCD7EDF88.jpeg
947BBC71-B9F1-4088-BD7C-E85DCD7EDF88.jpeg (834.11 KiB) Viewed 56095 times
- Andy
Rudy Mueller

Re: Fingering Question

Post by Rudy Mueller »

Sorry Andy,

As an intermediate beginner, I'm stuck in the first position for most pieces. However, measures 18-21 of "Kind vom Rhein" are workable in the first position, except for the open (and tinny sounding) "a" in Measure 18.

Zeller's Vogelhändler is a treasure, yet sadly, seldom heard. In the past, our Wendlstoana group frequently opened up Fest programs with a rousing chorus of "Grüsst euch Gott"; got the audience moving every time! At our home have a Meissen piece depicting "der Vogelhänder" (und Freundin) complete with a teeny tiny porcelain bird in its tiny porcelain cage.

rudi
Rudy Mueller

Post by Rudy Mueller »

and while we're talking about Zeller....

have you tried "wie mei Ahn'l zwanziigJahr" ? A delight, and although written in 3/4, is a ballad, and the tempo can be adjusted to fit the mood of the player....even a newbie like me.

rudi
Andy

Post by Andy »