Finding a Playable Zither

Interested in learning how to play the zither and wondering where to start? Use this section to post your questions.

Moderator: Dave

Dr H

Finding a Playable Zither

Post by Dr H »

Hello all, forum newbie here.

I guess I'll start by basically posting the e-mail that I sent to Dave when I registered for the forum:

I am a composer and multi-instrumentalist specializing in fretted string instruments, with my primary instrument being the guitar. I have been a professional musician, although I gave up trying to support myself solely through music some time ago, in favor of a more lucrative day job utilizing my skills in engineering, computers, and grant-writing. In recent years I've focused more on composition, but I still perform when the occasion arises (or demands!)

As I have expanded my repretoire of fretted instruments, it occured to me that the Zither was one I had neglected, and also that the zither presented a number of unique features not found in the various guitars, banjos, mandolins, charangos, etc. that I have been devoting my time to. So about four years ago I took it into my head to try to acquire a concert or alpine zither in playable condition, learn at least the basics of playing the instrument, and perhaps compose for it.

My problem lies in acquiring a playable instrument.

I'm sure you can understand that I was reluctant to spend several thousand dollars to acquire an new instrument which, in the end, I might be unable to play, so I sought used instruments. Months of searching failed to turn up any appropriate prospects locally, so I resorted to eBay.

This was discouraging in several ways. First off, for whatever reason, people who sell zithers on eBay almost never include a "buy it now" price, so one has to go through all the steps of the auction for a week or more at a time -- and possibly still not be the lucky winner. (I think I tried 6 zither auctions before I finally won one.)