Beginner Video - Tom M.

This forum will provide lessons for getting started and exercises for gaining proficiency.

Moderator: Dave

NutmegCT

Beginner Video - Tom M.

Post by NutmegCT »

Here's where I am now, after two very slow years.

https://youtu.be/fQ1hvN-OuSQ

This is Darr #25.

Believe me, I'd really appreciate comments on what I should do to improve. Really! Even something as basic as "go back to Darr #21 or #23". Please! I struggle keeping L and R hand fingers in the right place, and have to hunt for nearly every note I try to play. I can do scales pretty well - but combining melody and right hand really turns into fumble fingers.

And thanks for Pete in Australia for suggesting we make and post these "where we are" videos.

Tom M.
Musicmaker

Re: Beginner Video - Tom M.

Post by Musicmaker »

Hey Tom, that sounds pretty good to me.
I am not a Zitherist....YET....
But I am a musician of sorts.
The Zither i know , is not an easy instrument to play and there is only one other instrument that i have learnt that is simply mind boggelingly very hard, that of the pedal steel guitar ( E9 )
I put the Zither on the same level.
My approach to the synchronisation of first finger melody and accompaniment with the rest of the right hand would be to practice first, only the melody until near perfect and then only the accompaniment strings, again, until it comes without thinking.
When i am learnjng a piece on whatever instrument i go for one measure at a time.
I learn by stubborn repetition that would defy a parrot and sheer determination.
I am probably wrong in my above approach so we can only wait to see what experienced Zitherists have to say. I will also learn from their input and thats what it is all about. I do so hope you hear something back.
Lastly, thank you so much for sharing that Tom.
Whatever happens....DONT GIVE UP !
Pete
NutmegCT

Post by NutmegCT »

Pete - thanks very much for your detailed reply!