Playing with the left Pinkie

Interested in learning how to play the zither and wondering where to start? Use this section to post your questions.

Moderator: Dave

Donauer

Playing with the left Pinkie

Post by Donauer »

As a total beginner I notice that the pinkie is never shown as being used as a regular part of left hand fingering technique. Why is this?
kenbloom

Re: Playing with the left Pinkie

Post by kenbloom »

I don't know about anyone else but I've used the pinkie ever since I started playing zither. I have found it very useful for grabbing all sorts of chords. I work out my scales two ways, the normal way you find in the books using the thumb and then using my little finger and forgetting about the thumb. Between the two different fingerings it makes for more choices when working out difficult passages.
I use my right thumb in both directions and I find it easier to do string crossings with a forward stroke. Thus having alternate approaches to fingering makes this easier. Just my 2p.

Ken Bloom
Donauer

Post by Donauer »

Thanks for the reply Ken.
I also play violin and must admit fingering with the four fingers and excluding the thumb seems easier than three fingers and thumb. Of course fingering a mirror image of the string layout that I am accustomed to and with hand reversed is strange initially. I have experimented with both fingering schemes that you use and have played around with using all five on the left hand. Five fingers seems a bit more awkward than either of the other methods but perhaps only practice is needed to develop the necessary hand motions.
Your right hand technique is interesting. Do you use a modified thumb ring? Is there any problem with the thumb ring shifting around as you play opposite direction strokes? The reverse stroke seems on the face of it to be weaker than the press stroke. Is the disparity in power noticeable in playing? I'm afraid that at this point I probably don't have enough technique to judge meaningfully.