Slipping tuning peg

Is your zither in need of repair? Do you have questions on how to best maintain your zither, or have advice? Post your questions and advice here.

Moderator: Dave

cloudymoor

Slipping tuning peg

Post by cloudymoor »

My 11th harp string (A) is slipping and not holding its pitch. I purchased all red strings recently and haven't even needed this string yet as I'm a beginner so I assume it's the tuning peg. How do I proceed to try and remedy this problem???
Rudy Mueller

Re: Slipping tuning peg

Post by Rudy Mueller »

i've had the same problem on two or three pegs since replacing the left-hand bridge 2 years ago.

any suggestions anyone???

all red strings???

rudy
Dave

Post by Dave »

A few things can cause this. Wear on the pin block is one. It could also surface during the winter, which could be a warning sign that the instrument is too dry.

First remove your string and the tuning pin. Using a small piece of material, such as paper, thread it into the hole with the tuning pin. This may provide just enough friction to hold your string to pitch. If not, try a thicker piece of paper. If that still doesn't work, the typical options are to use a wood shim, rebuild the pin hole with Super Glue, or use a larger pin size.

I should note that numerous materials have been suggested to me in the past to fix this problem, such as paper, sand paper and thread. I'd be interested to know what works best for you.
We do not take humor seriously enough. —Konrad Lorenz
cloudymoor

Post by cloudymoor »

Thanks so very much for the reply. I was afraid to remove the peg and be unable to get it back in again.
cloudymoor

Post by cloudymoor »

Update---I had great success using my own hair to plug up the hole. I have to thank Anne Prinz for this suggestion. It was easier for me to pull some hair out, rather than find paper and scissors, but I thank you Dave for those ideas as well.