Playing minor chords with right pinky?

This forum will provide lessons for getting started and exercises for gaining proficiency.

Moderator: Dave

HeidiK

Playing minor chords with right pinky?

Post by HeidiK »

Hello dear Zitherists, it’s a year since I started learning the zither (selftaught) and I still really love that instrument and play nearly every day.
But as a lot of the pieces I play do have minor chords in them, I had to realize that playing minor chords forces my hand to jump too much, because my fingers span is too small and not able to reach all needed tones. And all this hand jumps slows down my performance too much.

So I recently I decided to change my right hand’s playing technique and practise using the right pinky finger aswell - which allows me to lay down my fingers on all strings required to play full minor chords and indeed it seems to bring in more steadiness into my playing.
But still it feels unfamiliar to use the right pinky as well, but one benefit is that it helps my brain to seperate minor chords from major chords very clearly.
What is your experience? Does this make sense to you?

Thanks in advance for your right pinky thoughts. And have a happy new year!
kenbloom

Re: Playing minor chords with right pinky?

Post by kenbloom »

Hi Heidi,

The right pinky I think is essential for good playing. It makes all sorts of chords possible as well as being able to do scales on the bass and accompaniment strings with ease and facility. Most minor chords are playable by using the same technique you use for major chords but using the middle finger to strum two adjacent strings to get the root and the fifth and using your index finger to get the third. That way your hand stays in the same position. It takes some practice to do this. Another approach is just to use the root and the fifth and leave out the third.